1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Setting up Officebooking
  4. Organization settings
  5. Setting up groups
  6. How do I organize users into departments or groups (user groups)?

How do I organize users into departments or groups (user groups)?

By default, all users in the system are in the “Everyone” group. If you want to configure rules or restrictions that apply to all users, you do this with this user group. If there are exceptions for a specific group of users or if you want to divide your users into departments, for example, you can add an extra user group.

For example, you can set that everyone can make 3 reservations per week by default, but that there is an extra group of users (for example the board or HR) that can make 5 reservations per week. This is how you set an exception for this specific group. With user groups it is also possible to divide your employees into departments or groups per floor and to link these groups to a group of workstations/rooms that can only be reserved for them.

Add user group

  1. Navigate to ‘User groups’ in the menu.
  2. Click on ‘+ Add’ to add a new user group.
  3. Read below what the different fields mean exactly and then fill in the data. All fields with an asterisk are required.

Name*: give your user group a name.

Description: give your user group an extra explanation.

Users: to add users to the group, select the field that says ‘Select a user’ and you will get a list with all existing users from the system. If you select a name it will be added in the field. If you want to add another user, click inside the field, under the first name added and the list will reappear. In this field you also have the possibility to quickly find a user by typing in his/her name.

Labels: give your user group a label if necessary.

 

Determine your location access

Company only: The option ‘Company only’ ensures that users of a group are allowed to use all their own organization locations by default. This is the default option.

All open locations: The Officebooking system may also contain publicly accessible locations, so-called ‘Open locations’. These are, for example, flex offices or co-working spaces. By selecting the option ‘All open locations’, the users of the group get access. If it concerns commercial providers, a fee may be charged for use. Prices and any conditions are available on the platform per location. This way you can easily grant your employees access to different providers of flexible workplaces.

By location group*: With the option ‘By location group’ you can compose groups of locations yourself.

Configure restrictions for this user group

Maximum number of days in advance: indicate how many days in advance you can create a reservation. Read more in this article.

Maximum booking duration in hours: indicate how many hours a reservation may consist of.

Maximum number of reservations per week: indicate how many reservations per week your users are allowed to create. Read more in this article.

Maximum number of reservations at the same time: indicate how many simultaneous reservations your users are allowed to create. Read more in this article.

Check in only on your own reservation or the one you are invited to: when activated, users can no longer check in without creating a reservation beforehand or check in on someone else’s reservation. Read more in this article.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need support?

Can’t find what you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support
Go to Top